Saraki Swears-in Two New Senators

Senate President Bukola Saraki on Wednesday, October 10, has sworn in Senator Lawal Gumuau from Bauchi south senatorial district and Senator Ahmad Baba Kaita from Katsina North senatorial district.
The two senators were sworn-in a day after the National Assembly was reopened after a long break.
Yahaya Gumua, the candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) won the Bauchi South senatorial election held on Saturday, August 11.
The results announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) shows the APC won in six of the seven local governments in the senatorial district where election was conducted.
The INEC in Katsina state declared Alhaji Ahmed Babba-Kaita of the APC winner of the bye-election conducted in the Katsina North Senatorial District.
Prof Hudu Ayuba-Abdullahi the returning officer who announced the result at 4:42 am in Daura on Sunday said Kaita, a member of the House of Representatives scored 224,607 votes, while his elder brother and a retired customs officer, Alhaji Kabir Babba Kaita of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) scored 59,724 votes.
Senator Biodun Olujimi representing Ekiti South Senatorial Constituency on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)has taken over the seat of the minority leader in the Senate, formerly occupied by Godswill Akpabio.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *