APC approves direct primaries for Lagos, Zamfara, Imo, others

  • …indirect primaries for Adamawa, Rivers, Kaduna, Borno


The National Working Committee (NWC) of the All Progressives Congress (APC) yesterday approved different modes of primaries for its state chapters.

A statement yesterday by the APC acting National Publicity Secretary, Mr Yekini Nabena showed that the resolutions by the party’s NWC directed 18 states including the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) to use direct primaries.

The states are Abia, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Cross River, Edo, Ekiti, Imo, Kano, Lagos, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Taraba, and Zamfara.

The 19 states where indirect primaries would hold include Adamawa, Benue, Borno, Delta, Ebonyi, Enugu, Gombe, Jigawa, Kaduna, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, and Yobe.

The party has slated Saturday, September 29 for its governorship primaries; October 2 for Senate, October 3 for House of Reps and October 4 for state assemblies.

Daily Trust reports that the development had altered calculations in many states including where the state chapters of the party had agreed on either consensus arrangement or indirect primaries while very few originally opted for direct primaries.

The governorship primaries would hold in 29 of the 36 states of the federation. There would be no gubernatorial elections in Anambra, Bayelsa, Edo, Ondo, Kogi, Ekiti and Osun states.

Daily trust

Hassan Usman Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *