BREAKING: Speaker, 17 other Sokoto lawmakers defect from APC to PDP

BREAKING: Speaker, 17 other Sokoto lawmakers defect from APC to PDP

related news

PHOTOS: Tambuwal defects from APC to PDP

Press Statement: Why I am leaving the APC — Tambuwal

World Bank lauds Tambuwal’s education policy

Gov Tambuwal may dump APC tomorrow

Kaduna community leader, Mamman Tambuwal dies

Speaker, Sokoto House of Assembly Alhaji Salihu Maidaji and 17 others state legislators have dumped the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) for the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

“We, the undersigned 18 members of the Sokoto state House of Assembly belong and identify with the faction of the APC led by one of its founders Alhaji Buba Galadima,” Maidaji disclosed at the Wednesday Assembly plenary.

He said they were aware that all effort to bring sanity into the APC and unite the different groups, camps and faction had proved abortive.

“This is after several attempts and efforts and the election is around the corner and we stand in danger if we remained in a party that is divided against itself,” he stated.

The Speaker added: “As such in accordance with the letters and spirit section 109 (1) (g) of the constitution as amended hereby defect to PDP forthwith.”

But commenting, Alhaji Sani Yakubu (APC- Gudu), who spoke on behalf of 12 other members, said that they would continue to remain committed and loyal to the APC-led government under President Muhammadu Buhari.

“We wish them well in their new party,” he added.

Daily trust

Hassan Usman Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *