Guber poll: INEC declares Seyi Makinde winner in Oyo state

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday declared the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the winner of the March 9 governorship election in the state.

The Vice-Chancellor, University of Lagos and Returning Officer of the election, Professor Oluwatoye Ogundipe, who announced the results at the INEC’s head office in Ibadan said the due process was followed in ensuring that people’s votes count.

Makinde polled 515,621 votes to beat Adebayo Adelabu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who got 348,258 votes.

He won in 28 local government areas of the state while the APC candidate won in 5 local governments.

The INEC’s Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) in the state, Mutiu Agboke, had earlier announced that PDP won 26 seats in the state House of Assembly while APC won 5 seats, the ADP has 1 seat, thus making it a total of 32.

He commended the traditional rulers and the religious organizations for their efforts to ensure that voter’s education went round the nooks and crannies of the state.

Agboke therefore assured the people of the state that no amount of intimidation and harassment will make the commission compromise on the mandate of the people.

Abdulwaheed Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *